Sun, Apr
157 Yeni Haber

Senate Polling in Pakistan Underway, PM Imran Khan casts his vote.



ISLAMABAD: Polling on thirty-seven vacant seats of the Senate is in progress at the parliament house and three provincial Assemblies including Sindh, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and Balochistan in Pakistan on wednesday.

The polling which started at nine am will continue till five pm.

In the federal capital where the National Assembly hall has been declared the polling station, while provincial Assemblies in each province are setup as polling stations for this senate election.

Prime Minister Imran Khan has also cast his vote who during his visit to the Assembly hall also interacted with the MNAs of PTI and allied parties.

Other prominent figures who have so far cast their vote include Foreign Minister Shah Mahmood Qureshi, Minister for Planning Asad Umar, Deputy Speaker National Assembly Qasim Khan Suri, Interior Minister Sheikh Rasheed Ahmad, Minister for Communications Murad Saeed, and Minister for Science Fawad Chaudhary.

Eleven senators will be elected from Sindh and twelve each from Balochistan and Khyber Pakhtunkhwa.

Opposition leader in the National Assembly Shahbaz Sharif, PPP Chairman Bilawal Bhutto Zardari and PPP Co Chairman Asif Ali Zardari have also cast their votes for the Senate election.

Sign up via our free email subscription service to receive notifications when new information is available.